One Simply Deserved Scholarship

TRENTON, N.J. – High school seniors aren’t the only ones receiving scholarship notices lately.

Danielle Gletow, founder and executive director at One Simple Wish, will join 30 other nonprofit leaders from across the country to participate in The Allstate Foundation Greater Good Nonprofit Leadership program. The scholarship is in tune with the start of a Masters Degree.

One Simple Wish uses technology and programming to bring positive awareness to the foster care system. One Simple Wish provides a way for anyone to directly touch the life of a child living in the system.

For four years, the Greater Good program educates top nonprofit professionals and strengthens their leadership skills. The program helps position these nonprofit leaders to further transform their organizations, their communities and the nonprofit sector as a whole. The program is entirely funded through The Allstate Foundation.

It is well-known among the nonprofit sector that there is a real need for more leadership development. Nonprofit organizations provide crucial, often lifesaving services that make our communities stronger, safer and more vibrant. It’s imperative for the growth and sustainability of nonprofits that their leaders are fully-developed to fulfill their critical missions

"As founder and executive director of One Simple Wish, I need to make sure that our organization is prepared,” said Gletow. “As a thought leader and well-respected advocate for children, it's important to remain informed and educated on all policy issues and programs so we can positively impact these kids."

Gletow was selected from a pool of more than 400 finalists  The cohort meets three times a year through May 2018 to learn from top academic practitioners at  Northwestern University Kellogg School of Management’s Center for Nonprofit Management.

“I have been very blessed to have received numerous awards over the years, but the Allstate Greater Good program ranks near the top of the list,” Gletow said. “Their commitment to helping nonprofits means so much because their aren’t many opportunities like this.”

To qualify for the award, each participant needs more than 10 years professional   experience and is a known leader in their region.

“The Allstate Foundation is committed to providing a unique program, created specifically to develop these leaders to further transform their organizations, their communities and the nonprofit sector as a whole,” said David Woolwine, director of reputation and corporate citizenship at Allstate. “It’s prestigious both in the quality of instruction and in the competitive selection of these participants, who are passionate about creating positive change.”

According to The Allstate Foundation, surveys show that past participants continue to thrive in their positions, taking on new responsibilities and sharing their knowledge among co-workers and within personal networks.

In its relatively short history, the Greater Good program has helped more than 1,000 leaders continue to develop their abilities.

This latest nonprofit scholarship class represents a diverse set of organizations across the nonprofit sector, including: arts and culture, economic empowerment, education, health and human services, safe and vital communities, support services, violence prevention and youth empowerment.

The entire roster of the 2017-2018 Greater Good class includes: Jake Ament (LISC Chicago), Veronica Brown (Chicago Public Libraries Foundation), Todd Buehrig (National Safety Council - Southeastern Chapter, South Carolina), Alexandra Canalos-Castillo (Center for Changing Lives, Chicago), Lindsy Carpenter (YWCA San Francisco & Marin), Steven Decker (Family Support Council, Wellington, Nevada), Amelia Drozda (Big Shoulders Fund, Chicago), Ken Elkins (Winning Futures, Troy, Michigan), Tony Gibart (End Domestic Abuse Wisconsin), Cori Goldstein (Safe Alliance, Charlotte, North Carolina), Odiaka Gonzalez (Oakland Leaf, California), Meghan Grady (YWCA,  Rhode Island), Hector Hernandez (Sojourner Family Peace Center, Wisconsin), Kelly Jones (A Better Chicago), Carly Magill (Writers Theatre, Illinois), Melissa Mallinson (Old Town School of Folk Music, Chicago), Matthew McNiel (Puente del Pueblo, Illinois), Ayoka Mota Samuels (Gary Comer Youth Center, Chicago), Cameron Nelson (Concordia Place, Chicago), Eleanor Perrone Toriski (Embarc, Embarc), Lauren Peterson (Women’s Resources of Monroe County Pennsylvania), Amberlie Phillips (YWCA Utah), Cathy Powers (Aging, Disability & Transit Services of Rockingham County, North Carolina), Mary Reynolds (Casa Central Social Services, Chicago), Q. Olivia Rivers (The Bridge Over Troubled Waters, Inc., Houston), Erika Simon (Family and Youth Counseling Agency, Inc., Louisiana), Irene Sohn (Hanul Family Alliance, Illinois), April Spaulding (Abrazos Family Support Services, New Mexico), Hector Torres (Center on Halsted, Chicago) and Jo Bender Yocum (Playworks, Indiana).